The water for life award

Posted on December 16, 2010


During yesterday’s sessions, Josefina Maestu, Director of the United Nations Office to Support the International Decade for Action “Water for Life” 2005-2015, which implements the UN-Water Decade Programme on Advocacy and Communication (UNW-DPAC), launched the 1st edition of the “Water for Life Best Practices” Award, and initiative in collaboration with and the UN World Water Assessment Programme (WWAP).

The purpose of the Award is to promote efforts to fulfill international commitments made on water and water-related issues by 2015 through recognition of outstanding best practices that can ensure the long-term sustainable management of water resources and contribute to the achievement of internationally agreed goals and targets as contained in the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs), Agenda 21 and the Johannesburg Plan of Implementation.

The prize is going to be awarded yearly in two categories, one in best water management practices and another one in best participatory, communication, awareness-raising and education practices.

The award consists of:

  • An invitation to participate in the UN event celebrated on the occasion of World Water Day, including travel and accommodation for one representative for each of the above mentioned categories representing the winning practice.
  • A video produced on each of the winning best practice categories. This videos will be included on the UN database on good practices.
  • A certificate especially designed for the award.

More information on eligibility, submission of candidatures, selection criteria and the selection process can be obtained from the Water for Life Decade website.

Posted in: Uncategorized